Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Mini cupcakes with “healthy”, rich and creamy dark chocolate frosting

Owls and Cupcake2015 brings big changes for me so, I’m getting back to my creative roots. Join me or just enjoy my photos and drool.


Thursday’s creativity conveniently centered around my recent craving for cupcakes. I have a big love for yellow cake made from the box—so fluffy with a distinct flavor I grew up with!

Cupcake

Yellow Cupcakes w/ Dark Chocolate “Healthy” Frosting

Yellow dry cake mix
(3 eggs)(1 cup water)
(1/4 cup oil)
mini cupcake liners
mini cupcake/tart pan

1 avocado, room temperature
1/2 cup agave nectar
3/8 cup coconut oil
1/3 cup warm water
1 tsp vanilla
3/4 cup dark cocoa powder

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F

Prepare yellow cake mix per the box directions

Pour into the lined mini cupcake pan

Bake 10 minutes until toothpick inserted in the center of the cake comes out clean.

• While the cupcakes cool, prepare the frosting adapted from The Healthalicious Baker.

Note: I don’t have a food processor, so I made my frosting in a Kitchenaid Mixer with a silicone blade paddle attachment.

Mix/mash avocado smooth in the mixer.

Mix in agave & coconut oil until smooth.

Slowly mix in warm water.

Slowing mix in cocoa power and vanilla.

Mix until smooth.

Frost cupcakes and refrigerate until ready to eat.

Nope, they don’t taste like avocado. That rich dark cocoa powder steals the show. You just get the decadent creamy texture.
Creatively Yours, Miranda

2 comments on “Mini cupcakes with “healthy”, rich and creamy dark chocolate frosting

  1. opusanglicanum
    January 16, 2015

    I tend to use very dark chocolate ganaches, so just cream and choc. just can’t fathom why you’d even try to be healthy with the toppingswhen you’re eating chemical cake

    • Miranda
      January 17, 2015

      My craving for nostalgic chemical cake allowed me to try out a new recipe!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on January 16, 2015 by in Food and tagged , , , .
