Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

My dirty sewing machine and other kinky stories.

I grew up with this dirty sewing machine. My mother taught me to sew and many late nights were spent fashioning my own unique style.

When I married and moved out, my mother kindly gave me her Kenmore Zig Zag Machine and bought her own brand new shiny clean one. She regrets it. I selfishly won’t give it back.

I know this machine! It’s kinks and quirks. So much of my blood, sweat and tears have been invested that I can’t imagine repeating the process with another!

After finishing my mother’s quilted garden apron, I realized my precious, dirty sewing machine had never been oiled – cleaned – or cared for in any way. Shame!

Kenmore Zig Zag 1660 Sewing Machine

Kenmore Zig Zag 1660 Sewing Machine

I had attributed it’s immobile feed dogs and stuck shut free arm to old age (it’s probably older than me!)

4 hours of cleaning revealed no less than 3 broken needle tips and 3 kinked pins along with a whole lot of fiber dust and oil so old it had turned to sludge! With hubby’s help we got it all fixed up and sparkly clean.

A look up my Kenmore's skirt!

A look up my Kenmore’s skirt!

Now on to my next project… hum, laptop case perhaps.

4 comments on “My dirty sewing machine and other kinky stories.

  1. Debbie Spivey
    March 25, 2014

    My mama used to sew. At times I wish I had learned how to from her. I just don’t have the patience!! Good luck!!

    • Miranda
      March 26, 2014

      Patience is the key, I know when I don’t have enough to work on a sewing project!

  2. KerryCan
    March 25, 2014

    I think you’re pretty brave to do this yourself–I hired someone! But I know exactly how you feel about your old machine–I tried a new-fangled computerized machine and hated it!

    • Miranda
      March 26, 2014

      Having hubby as back up gave me some courage!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 24, 2014 by in My Life and tagged , , , .
