Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Sewing a Garden Apron

I’m on a little bit of an apron kick now that I finished the pair of wedding aprons. On to my mother’s birthday! Her suggestion for a gift, something for the garden. There are so many possibilities for a gardening apron! Gathering pockets, spade loops, seed pockets, padded knees….

This version is sweet and simple with a gathering pocket and a quilted spade pocket.

Brainstorming with my fabrics.

Brainstorming with my fabrics.

I started at my local thrift store look for something flowery. I found a lovely floral pillow cover by Pottery Barn. Using that as my color swatch, I pulled out a few coordinating fabrics from my stash and got to brain storming.

First rough draft. Ended up omitting the jean pocket and loop.

First rough draft. Ended up omitting the jean pocket and loop.

My first rough draft did not hold true. The jean material for the spade pocket just felt too out of place even though the durability was attractive.

I tested out a pleated pocket design (loosely based on Pink Penguin’s Puffy Pouch) on some scrap fabric first… and found out the hard way that it was “plastic” when I went to iron the seams! (You can see it in white, above.)

Peek-a-book pleated gathering pocket.

Peek-a-book pleated gathering pocket.

But with a few tweeks I was able to translate it into a gathering pocket with an elastic top.

Adding detail, outline the flowers.

Adding detail, outline the flowers.

This apron was my first project with free motion quilting; outlining on a couple of the flowers and a monogram on the pocket. I did quite a few practice squares for the free hand monogram after researching it (Ramond P from Yahoo answers).

Tips for free motion monogram / quilting (on a Kenmore Zig Zag machine 1660)

  • Adjust your pressure foot gauge to almost zero
  • Hold your fabric perfectly flat with an embroidery hoop
  • Move slowly & practice
Preparing to quilt the monogrammed pocket.

Preparing to quilt the monogrammed pocket.

Not a smooth sewing, but I trust my gut and graphic design eye. Even though a ripped out a few seams and threw out a few pockets, I’m proud of the finished project!

Mom loved it!

Mom loved it!

Follow My Projects board on Pinterest to see what might show up next. ~ Miranda

3 comments on “Sewing a Garden Apron

  1. vjstracener
    March 17, 2014

    That turned out pretty well.

  2. Pingback: My dirty sewing machine and other kinky stories. | Creating... Miranda

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 17, 2014 by in My Art, Physical Design and tagged , , , , , , , .
