Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

T-shirt dying with black tea

I have 12 “fiercely patriotic” white t-shirts waiting in the wings for a dash of color. Hence, the tea dye testing.

I’ve collected a few 100% cotton “white” work shirts from my husband to use as test subjects. These shirts are already stained and dingy, but will work as stand-ins in my hunt for the perfect shade of antique ivory.

IMAG5825

Of course I can’t just dye them… why not do a little creative folding?

IMAG5826

Ironing the creases to limit bulk and increase consistency on the final dye pattern.

IMAG5827

Alternating triangle fold!

IMAG5829

Sitting pretty.

Black tea & red food coloring test.

Black tea & red food coloring test.

IMAG5849

The final results. Conclusion: Black tea is too brown.

Swatches (left to right)

  • 32 black tea bags & 16 cups of well water – Soaked 1 hr
  • 32 black tea bags & 16 cups of well water (2nd use) – Soaked 15 minutes
  • 2 black tea bags & 8 cups of well water – Soaked 5 minutes
  • 2 tea bags & 4 cups of water (same proportions as previous) & 4 drops red food coloring plus 1/16 c salt.

The color from black tea is just too muddy for my taste. I’m switching to RIT. I’ll show you the results once I’m done, hopefully before Fourth of July! ~ Miranda

4 comments on “T-shirt dying with black tea

  1. Hello, Scarlett
    March 12, 2014

    Can’t wait to see the final results!

    Emory
    helloscarlettblog.com

    • Miranda
      March 12, 2014

      Me too! Time to prioritize the project list…

  2. vjstracener
    March 12, 2014

    Natural dyes! That is so neat.

    • Miranda
      March 13, 2014

      I’ll be experimenting more once spring comes around and I have access to my garden.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 12, 2014 by in My Art, Physical Design and tagged , , , , , .
