Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Aprons from scratch… kinda

My cousin was just married in a beautiful wedding: round barn, winter theme, crafty and artistic touches everywhere!

Heidi Joy's Winter Wedding

Heidi Joy’s Winter Wedding

Her pending vows inspired me to create a heartfelt gift for her and her groom but what? On my wedding day, some 12 years ago, my aunt handmade me a pair of frilly and fun aprons that I still wear today! Perfect.

But how?
These aprons needed to be unique and durable, so I set about making my own patterns (not as hard as it sounds) after brainstorming with my good friend Pinterest / My apron brainstorming board.

The results
For her, a gathering apron & reversible (aka, lined)
For him, a chefs’ apron also reversible & easily converted to a half apron.

IMAG5497

Prepping the Patterns

I laid out the brown paper & traced my own aprons with a healthy seam allowance.

For hers, I combined the yoke neck from one apron with the simple lines of another (see pic above). His is a straight up trace from my chefs’ apron.

The first cut was in muslin and let me work out the kinks and still use it in the final piece.

Cutting her apron out of muslin. See the fold in the paper pattern? Adjusting to fit the fabric!

Cutting her apron out of muslin. See the fold in the paper pattern? Adjusting to fit the fabric!

Then I planned out my sewing steps, “pin right sides together – sew – flip inside out – hem” type of stuff, and got to work!

His apron laid out before any sewing. I realized it needed more color and added the blue at the bottom to help match hers.

His apron laid out before any sewing. I realized it needed more color and added the blue at the bottom to help match hers. The corner rivets were omitted in the end.

Her apron all laid out before any sewing. I ended up omitting the lace for fear it would interfere when the apron is tied up and gathered.

Her apron all laid out before any sewing. I ended up omitting the lace for fear it would interfere when the apron is tied up and gathered.

Highlights

Her apron

  • The cherry print came from a thrifted pair of pajama pants and does an adorable peek-a-boo effect with the light muslin. The drawstring also worked conveniently for bias tape on the inside yoke.
  • The eyelets and gathering strings (bows) are reinforced with interfacing.
  • When tied and gathered, the cherry fabric flashes bright and bold.
Front of the Gathered Cherries yoke apron

Front of the Gathered Cherries yoke apron

Back / inside

Back / inside

Gathered!

Gathered!

His apron

  • The pocket has a center snap (reinforced with an iron on patch) to allow the top to fold inside for a half apron. I also left the original markings on the muslin inside the pocket as a neat industrial touch.
  • The decorative tag works extremely well as a spatula/spoon holster.
  • Seams on both aprons are topstitched and I think it gives them a nice finished look.
Chefs' Convertible with the top up...

Chefs’ Convertible with the top up…

Convertible top down! With awesome spoon holster.

Convertible top down! With awesome spoon holster.

My boss graciously agreed to model the finished aprons for me. Thanks Rose!

5 comments on “Aprons from scratch… kinda

  1. ronthroop
    March 5, 2014

    Can I work with your boss? She’s a wowza!

    • Miranda
      March 5, 2014

      I think I can arrange something. 😉

  2. KerryCan
    March 6, 2014

    I am so impressed with this whole project–the thought that went into it and the actual construction. It would never occur to me to try to make an apron (let alone two different ones!) without a pattern. The details, the fabric–all perfect!

  3. Pingback: Sewing a Garden Apron | Creating... Miranda

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 5, 2014 by in My Art, My Life, Physical Design and tagged , , , , , , , .
