Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

DIY – Unicorn in a Walnut

While thrifting I come across many strange and wonderful things. Once such thing, was baby unicorn sleeping in a walnut shell. I immediately took a picture to preserve the awesomeness but hesitated to buy it because of it’s dingy appearance. Of course, now I wish I had.

In preparation for the office’s annual ugly ornament exchange, I have attempted to recreate it! Though my blanket lacks the proper fluff and I can’t get it to hang like a cradle, I am still proud of my work.

The original inspiration, hanging in the thrift store.

The original inspiration, hanging in the thrift store.

Miranda’s Ugly Ornament – Unicorn Cradled in a Walnut

Cutting out the head

Cutting out the head from sparkly velvety fabric. I think it’s an old Victoria’s Secret bag.

Sewing the mane.

Sewing the mane. Yeah, I could have done it on the sewing machine much faster but I didn’t want to move away from my seat by the wood stove.

Mane and head become one!

Mane and head become one!

Time to insert the horn

Time to insert the horn, made from pipe cleaner with silver thread wrapped around it.

Final assembly.

Final assembly.

Gluing in the tail and loop. Maybe I should have put a weight in there to get it to hang right.

Gluing in the tail and loop. Maybe I should have put a weight in there to get it to hang right.

Only things left are the blanket and bow!

Only things left are the blanket and bow!

Kittens and Unicorns go together like sparkles and rainbows.

Kittens and Unicorns go together like sparkles and rainbows.

4 comments on “DIY – Unicorn in a Walnut

  1. KerryCan
    December 16, 2013

    What a sweet ornament! Not ugly at all . . . .

  2. catseatdogs Makes and Bakes
    December 16, 2013

    That is a great ornament! What else can you put in a walnut shell I wonder.

    • Miranda
      December 17, 2013

      Could you fit a dragon in there?!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on December 16, 2013 by in My Art, Physical Design and tagged , , , .
