Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Disappearing Bloody Brie Brains!

This was an experiment – that failed. But it still tasted good! And I learned from my mistakes…

IMAG4451

Bloody Brie Brains

You need:
Brain mold – plastic is fine, it’s not going in the oven
Brie round – that fits in the mold, I had to trim mine
Red jelly – less than a cup, I used seedless raspberry
Pastry – I used crescent rolls
Baking sheet – with a lip, lined  with parchment paper

Preparation:

  • Preheat your oven according to the pastry directions.
  • Spray inside of brain mold with non-stick spray.
  • Roll out your pastry into a sheet. Seal the seams!
  • Lay pastry inside brain mold and GENTLY press inside to conform to brain shape.
  • Add a few scoops of jelly.
  • Set your brie on top of jelly.
  • Seal up edges to enclose the brie.
  • Flip onto baking sheet and remove brain mold.
  • Bake until golden and oozing jelly and brie!
  • Cut into the brain while warm to make it bleed. Enjoy!

IMAG4452 IMAG4453

This turned out to be a little too much. No need to add jelly to the sides. It might have even helped my brain to "melt" and smoosh to the sides.

This turned out to be a little too much. No need to add jelly to the sides. It might have even helped my brain to “melt” and smoosh to the sides.

Beautiful brains!

Beautiful brains!

My brain has disappeared!

My brain has disappeared!

Notes:

My brain looked great going into the oven, but melted into a yummy lump during baking.

Therefore, I SUGGEST

• chilling the molded brain before baking.

• OR Using pastry dough OR pie crust. 

• OR going crazy and cutting the crescent rolls into snakes, then seaming them back together as brain squiggles because the seams puffed rather nicely on my finished brie.

• OR carefully slicing brain patterns on the pastry dough or pie crust.

3 comments on “Disappearing Bloody Brie Brains!

  1. Kat
    November 3, 2013

    What a cool idea! Sorry it didn’t work out for you. You said it tasted really good though–all that matters! I must confessed to being uncultured to this, what does brie and raspberry jam taste like together?

    • Miranda
      November 4, 2013

      Brie is a mild cheese, kinda a cross between mozzarella and cream cheese. So I would say it is vaguely similar tasting to cheese cake with cherries? Vaguely cause not as creamy and sweet on the cheese part. 🙂

      • Kat
        November 4, 2013

        That sounds awesome! Sometimes cheese cake is too rich for me so a milder version sounds yummy

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 31, 2013 by in Food, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
