Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

DIY Yogurt

Yogurt is a staple of my diet. And in an effort to save money, I’m attempting to make my own.

Here’s the method I used, following David Lebovitz’s recipe. (Sterilize, Heat, Cool, Mix, Set, & Chill.)

Starting with whole milk and greek yogurt.

Starting with whole milk and greek yogurt.

The heated yogurt and milk combination is bundled up to rest over night - creating yogurt!

The heated yogurt and milk combination is bundled up to rest over night – creating yogurt!

My new yogurt!

My new yogurt!

Straining my new yogurt to make it thicker.

Straining my new yogurt to make it thicker.

So far I have used it for baking, but am a little hesitant to eat it plain because of the thin, viscous consistency. 

2 comments on “DIY Yogurt

  1. KerryCan
    October 16, 2013

    I give you a lot of credit for trying this! I’m not sure I’d go so far–I hope you learn to love it!

    • Miranda
      October 16, 2013

      I might try again with unpasturized milk…

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 16, 2013 by in Food, My Life and tagged , , , .
