Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Baking… Birthday Bunt Cake

My first brainstorm for this birthday dessert was epic!

  • Baked sponge cake balls
  • Filled with raspberry butter cream
  • Dipped in chocolate ganache
  • Served in mini cupcake liners with a Pocky candy faux-candle.

First fail = Chatting while baking means I forgot to add the sugar until too late. Lumby batter.

IMAG3857

Fail – Sugar is supposed to be creamed into the butter. I messed up and added it after the eggs.

Proper batter consistency.

Proper batter consistency.

Second fail = Didn’t use the “cake ball” recipe that came with my pan. All the balls stuck!

FAIL - That lovely sugar crust stuck my cake balls right to the pan!

FAIL – That lovely sugar crust stuck my cake balls right to the pan!

So I moved on to my back up plan: Nestle’s Mocha Dream Cake with chocolate glaze and raspberry buttercream.

IMAG3867

 

5 comments on “Baking… Birthday Bunt Cake

  1. mydearbakes
    September 14, 2013

    Splendid! What a marvelous looking bake! =D

    • Miranda
      September 14, 2013

      Thank you! I was so glad it looked good based on the luck I was having.

  2. josdelights
    September 25, 2013

    Whatever it’s sitting on looks kind of disturbing though…. worms?
    But the chocolatey cake on top sure looks delish!

    • Miranda
      October 1, 2013

      LOL! I was testing out a new frosting tip. It’s raspberry butter cream.

  3. Pingback: Baking… Almond Raspberry Birthday Cake | Creating... Miranda

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 13, 2013 by in Food, My Life and tagged , , , , , , , , .
