Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Sewing… Lace Cut-offs

My favorite jeans are about worn right through! They are still sooooooo comfy but I have to be careful when I cross my legs cause the  backs of the thighs have ripped almost all the way across. My husband threatens every time I wear them that he is going to grab a hold of those holes and rip them right off of me!

Initially, I was going to salvage them with major patching but Pinterest has been showcasing cut off jeans with lace hems and I’ve got antique lace in my stash!

My favorite jeans. They've seen better days. I only wear them out when I just don't care.

My favorite jeans. They’ve seen better days. I only wear them out when I just don’t care.

Snip, Snip! Of course, they didn't rip perfectly symmetrical.

Snip, Snip! Of course, they didn’t rip perfectly symmetrical.

Patching up the worn through holes at the inner thigh.

Patching up the worn through holes at the inner thigh.

Adding a little extra jean at a rip that went too high.

Adding a little extra jean at a rip that went too high.

Randomly sewing over the frayed hole.

Randomly sewing over the frayed hole.

Zig-zagging the lace in place.

Zig-zagging the lace in place.

The finished patching details.

The finished patching details.

Ta-da! My finished shorts.

Ta-da! My finished shorts.

This transformation allowed me to keep the comfy waistline of my favorite jeans with a shabby chic flare!

2 comments on “Sewing… Lace Cut-offs

  1. delilahdoodles
    July 30, 2013

    Lovely idea 😀

    • Miranda
      July 30, 2013

      Thank you! I’m looking forward to the first day out with them!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 30, 2013 by in My Art, Physical Design and tagged , , , , .
