Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Weaving… a dreamcatcher

And now for the reveal of my custom handmade dreamcatcher!

I did a bit of research on dreamcatchers before creating this one. I needed to have intent as I created instead of flying by the seat of my pants. Linked here are my two research posts on Dreamcatchers and Crystals.

The step by step!

• I’m starting with wild grape vines I harvested from my yard, along with a young wild rose cane complete with a few thorns.

Grape vine and rose cane intertwined next to a second grape vine frame.

Grape vine and rose cane intertwined next to a second grape vine frame.

• The green frame is then wrapped in a fabric from a comfy t-shirt.

I learned from making T-shirt Necklaces, that used t-shirt material will stretch quite a bit allowing for a nice tight knot at the end of the frame wrapping.

Initially, I just wrapped three sections of the frame to bind the ends and allow the green to show through, but I didn’t like the way it looked and ended up cutting it all off and wrapping the entire thing.

Cutting the tshirt into one long strip for wrapping.

Cutting the tshirt into one long strip for wrapping.

• Weaving the dreamcatcher took me 3 tries.

I started with waxed thread but didn’t like the weight of it. Attempted silk thread but it broke half way through. And finished with a strong variegated cotton thread interspersed with glass beads. I used that strong cotton thread throughout the rest of the project.

Wrapped up tight.

Wrapped up tight.

• In the center is a natural holey-stone, known to increase the strength of the dreamcatcher and add protection.

Woven and ready for accessories.

Woven and ready for accessories.

• Feathers are slippery!

Laying out the feathers was easy, but when it came to wrapping them together they just wouldn’t play nice. I ended up tacking them together with rubber cement, wrapping with thread, and finally wrapping in leather to finish them before the beads go on.

IMAG3037

Goose, peacock, blue bird, and unknown feathers.

• Wrapping the crystals in wire took a few tries as well.

I used a piece of leather to hold everything in place while I struggled worked. But the difficulties I faced while constructing this dreamcatcher somehow made me feel like it would be stronger for it.

Quartz and Amethyst crystals wrapped in copper wire (coated in color).

Quartz and Amethyst crystals wrapped in copper wire (the wire is coated in color).

• My intentions for this dreamcatcher, written in the form of a prayer on birch skin.

This scroll is rolled up and tied to the finished dreamcatcher.

This scroll is rolled up and tied to the finished dreamcatcher.

• I rearranged the crystals and beads a few times…

Putting all the pieces together.

Putting all the pieces together.

• Tied on the prayer.

Birch scroll prayer and cross.

Birch scroll prayer and cross.

• Along with a few personal charms.

Personal charms.

Personal charms.

• Threaded the crystals and stones.

The stones and crystals have various properties to enhance this dreamcatcher for protection from nightmares. The black stones are onyx and they absorb negative energy while the feathers guide good dreams to the sleeper. More detailed descriptions are on my research pages, Dreamcatchers & Crystals.

Turquoise, silver, quartz and amethyst crystals, an citrine.

Turquoise, silver, quartz and amethyst crystals, an citrine.

• And its all finished and ready to be cleansed and charged.

Finished Dreamcatcher

Finished Dreamcatcher

After completing the dreamcatcher and it’s sister medicine bag, I brought them to a Reiki Master for cleansing and charging. She found especially strong vibrations at the feathers and was pleased with the energy throughout.

• The medicine bag for traveling.

Man = Charm • Plant = Lavender • Animal = Leather • Earth = Stones and Crystals

Traveling Medicine Bag for protection against nightmares.

Traveling Medicine Bag for protection against nightmares.

2 comments on “Weaving… a dreamcatcher

  1. Pingback: Researching… a dream catcher | Creating... Miranda

  2. Pingback: Researching… crystals and stones | Creating... Miranda

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on July 18, 2013 by in Physical Design and tagged , , , , , , , , .
