Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Finishing… my vintage apron!

Do you remember my in-progress apron? There were a couple posts. I took a day off of work to do it, but my apron is done. I made a few mistakes, some I left and some I corrected. After my first wearing I realized I need to reinforce the straps at the waist, but this beauty is finished and in use!

A mixture of old and new:
the fabric is a worn out pillow case and a sugar bag,
the trimming is fresh from JoAnn’s, and
the pattern (Butterick See & Sew 5125) has been in my sewing box for years.

IMAG2726

Piping isn’t in the pattern. So, I had to go back a step and sew it in at the top. Turns out I estimated it a bit too long and now I have slack in the bottom!

IMAG2728

Fixed the slack in the bottom with a snip and fold.

IMAG2730

This pattern has two options: full apron with bow, or half apron with pocket. I wanted a full apron with POCKET – so here I am guessing on the placement.

IMAG2731

Pocket is sewn in and looks ok.

IMAG2732

This fabric is a very old pillow case – and very fragile. I patched some of the holes that needed to be stitched over with interfacing. It blends in well enough at the seams.

IMAG2733

Another spot of interfacing patch where I pulled too hard while straightening out a pucker and it just ripped off in my fingers!

IMAG2734

The first time I pinned the rickrack in place it was too low. This time I’m measuring out the seam allowance and readjusting the rickrack to just catch on the bottom.

IMAG2737

Piping and rickrack are both extra outside of the pattern AND new to me.

IMAG2736

Oops! Caught a fold in the seam. Time to back track on the rick rack. (I crack myself up.)

IMAG2739

The last step, hand sewing a slip stitch around the facing.

IMAG2746

An outdoor shot to show color.

IMAG2771

My husband insisted on taking a picture of me in the apron. LOL.

7 comments on “Finishing… my vintage apron!

  1. Pillows A-La-Mode
    June 20, 2013

    I LOVE it! 🙂

    • Miranda
      June 20, 2013

      Thank you! Perhaps you are already biased towards pillows? 😉

      • Pillows A-La-Mode
        June 20, 2013

        I seem to be leaning toward aprons these days . . . Aprons A-La-Mode??? 🙂

  2. LubbyGirl
    June 23, 2013

    This is SO. CUTE!!!
    As soon as I can get back into my sewing room, I plan to make an apron or ten myself…I’ll probably be looking at this again for ideas.

    • Miranda
      June 25, 2013

      Awesome! I did a Pinterest search and found a lot of ideas.

  3. it’s lovely really impressed and yiou have sewn it real neatxx

    • Miranda
      June 25, 2013

      Thanks! I made sure not to rush this time… sometimes I’m so lazy I don’t even watch the thread to the fabric O_o

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 20, 2013 by in Physical Design and tagged , , , .
