Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Frying… faux cronuts

Have you heard of cronuts? Apparently they are a big thing in NYC, a fried croissant donut filled with cream.

So, for Father’s Day, I attempted to make a home version with frozen pastry dough… yeah, it ain’t that easy.

The chronicles of my “test fry-kitchen”:

• The day before I thawed both bricks of pastry dough, unfolded them, and laid them on top of each other.  (I was attempting to get those towering layers of puff.)

• I started with the oil at 350, 1.5 cup vegetable & .5 cup shortening.

• Per this recipe, I fried my dough 2 minutes per side. They burned on the outside and were raw in the middle.

• Bringing the oil down to 300, I was getting a more golden color on the outside but still raw in the middle.

• Next I rolled out the dough thinner. (The double layered pastry dough had made it too dense.)

• No longer raw, but not super fluffy. I decided to go with it and fried up the rest of the dough, rolled it in cinnamon sugar, and filled it with pastry cream.

• After 4 hours cursing over boiling oil, I was done. A plate full of fried cream-filled delight, but not cronuts.

Cutting out the cronuts

Cutting out the cronuts

First test fry looks promising, nice puff but a little dark.

First test fry looks promising, nice puff but a little dark.

Breaking open the first fry to reveal gooey uncooked dough.

Breaking open the first fry to reveal gooey uncooked dough. Or maybe it is just oil saturated…

After much trial and error, this was the final plate presented to my father-in-law. He ate them all that day.

After much trial and error, this was the final plate presented to my father-in-law. He ate them all that day.

Made myself a treat with the scraps. It was awesome the next morning, cold from the fridge with hot coffee.

Made myself a treat with the scraps. It was awesome the next morning, cold from the fridge with hot coffee.

Since the cronuts failed, I made my dad chocolate mousse... from a box.

Since the cronuts failed, I made my dad chocolate mousse… from a box.

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 18, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , .
