Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Embroidering… adorable owls

I bought this fabric weeks ago (See my “Coming Soon” post) in anticipation of a new baby in the family BUT I procrastinated so long she’s already here!!!

Using my stash of pretty, shiny, silk thread – I’m adding embroidered details to this tiny little owl. I might even put the newborn’s name and birthdate on it!

I’ve gotta look up how to do those pretty little knots for the polka dots.

And I might even add in some beads over that scalloped edge!

IMAG2584

I started with the ears… mistakenly thinking I was going to do a full satin stitch but the fabric was pulling too much (or I was!). Next time I’m debating ironing some interfacing to the back for more support.

IMAG2585_BURST002

Teal is all done! For now…

IMAG2586

The pretty pink wings might get some weaving action in the future. You can see I’m just starting the ivory scalloped edge. – I might actually pull that out and do the stitch where you wrap the thread around its-self…

3 comments on “Embroidering… adorable owls

  1. cheferli
    June 11, 2013

    looking good, can’t wait to see it finished :).

  2. Forestwoodfolkart
    June 11, 2013

    So cute!

  3. Pingback: Finishing… a tiny owl embroidery | Creating... Miranda

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 6, 2013 by in Physical Design and tagged , , , .
