Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Baking… Fresh Rhubarb Pie

IMAG2215

Spring is here and my rhubarb is already trying to bloom! Time to make Rhubarb Pie 🙂

IMAG2219

My recipe is adapted from The Kitchn’s Rhubarb Crumble Pie

Single pie crust: Line your pie pan and place in refrigerator while preheating oven to 375.

Mix ingredients in bowl and allow to set 15 minutes while you make crumble topping.
1.75 lbs chopped rhubarb (about 15 red stalks at least the width of your thumb)

1/2 cup white sugar
1/4 cup brown sugar (next time I’ll use 1/2 cup)
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup instant tapioca
Dash of Lemon Juice

Crumble topping: Combine ingredients by hand or pastry blender until butter is evenly distributed and begins to clump.
1/2 cup flour
1/4 cup almond meal
1/3 cup brown sugar
1/2 tsp salt
4 tbls chilled butter

Remove pie crust from refrigerator, fill with rhubarb mixture, top with crumble while squeezing to make a few nice clumps.

Place pie in larger pan and bake 1 hr till golden.

Serve with vanilla ice cream for those who don’t like the zingy tartness.

IMAG2216 IMAG2217 IMAG2218

Notes:

This pie was very tart, so I’ve noted in the ingredients to up the brown sugar.

I used a pre-made crust but the taste totally overwhelmed the rest of my homemade pie! Next time I will be sure to take the extra time to make a fresh one.

3 comments on “Baking… Fresh Rhubarb Pie

  1. livesimplenatural
    May 6, 2013

    I made blackberry rhubarb pie today- it looks so yummy! We only had 3 strawberries so I had to improvise. 🙂 I think the blackberries might overwhelm the taste of rhubarb, but when the kids brought me handfuls of rhubarb stalks I had to come up with something to use them for.
    Your pie looks delicious, and I love the idea of a crumble top. Much easier and in my opinion, tastier too.

    • Miranda
      May 7, 2013

      Yum! So how did the finished product taste?

      • livesimplenatural
        May 7, 2013

        Really, really good! Its a great variation for when there are no strawberries around. I’ll definitely make it again. 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 6, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , .
