Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Baking… Olive Bread

My sister came to visit in February and spoiled us with her delicious cooking & baking!

One of my favorites was her Olive Bread.

I have never made bread by hand before… but I attempted her recipe last night.

2 tsp dry yeast
1 cup water
3  3/4 cup bread flour (I used all purpose and added 3 3/4 tbs wheat gluten)
1 1/2 tsp salt
3 TBS olive oil
1 can of sliced black olives, drained and rinsed

• Sprinkle yeast into water. Let stand for 5 minutes, stir to dissolve. Mix flour and salt in a large bowl. Make well in the center. Pour in yeast, water and oil.
• Mix to form a soft sticky dough.
 • Knead until smooth. Add olives (this part is super messy) knead until mixed well. You may need to add more flour here.
 • Put in oiled bowl. Cover and let rise until double. Probably 2 hours.
 • Punch down. Rest for 10 minutes. Form loaf. Proof for 30 minutes ( double in size) <– Mine didn’t.
 • Bake at 350 for 30-45 minutes
• Make sure to salt and oil the top. Some times I add dimples to help the oil and salt stick. (I patted mine into a flat loaf)

My dough wasn’t quite “soft sticky” per her directions.

4.16.13.1

But it did rise… a little.

4.16.13.2

We will be eating it tonight with my parents. I will bring dipping oil just in case!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 17, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , .
