Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Creating… hand embroidered tags

4.15.13.1

A treasure in my sewing chest—silk thread! Inherited from a passed grandparent… but what to do with it?

One of my many crafty ideas includes a personalized tag.

A quick search on Etsy revealed custom embroidered twill tape that would work perfectly… but upon further investigation, I don’t have enough lead time to meet my deadline and I did learn that having custom artwork turned into an embroidery computer file is a BIG DEAL (all those stitches to plot)!

So, I’m attempting hand embroidery. My history includes cross stitching… but this is different. Sarah’s Hand Embroidery dictionary is really helping me a lot… figure out what stitch I want and then showing me how to make it!

Here’s my first attempt!

4.15.13.2

I’m saving the silk thread for the finished product….

2 comments on “Creating… hand embroidered tags

  1. opusanglicanum
    April 16, 2013

    it looks like flat (filament) silk, so you might find it easier to work with if you use either beeswax or a thread conditioner on it

    • Miranda
      April 16, 2013

      Thank you very much for the tip! It is very smooth… and silky. Ha!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on April 16, 2013 by in Physical Design and tagged , , .
