Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Creating… Cherry Almond Birthday Cake with a hint of Chocolate

My mom’s birthday is today and I was lucky enough to be able to fanangle the day off to dedicate to making her cake!

A day may seem excessive to you but I had grandiose plans. Had. Apparently making fondant flowers takes practice…. duh. Just wishful thinking to hope I would get them awesome on the first try.

Anyway, I’m getting a little off track. Here’s the backstory:

Mom requested “almond” cake to give me a jumping off point. She loves marzipan. When I started doing some research it seemed almond was very often paired with cherry. And she also loves chocolate covered cherries (sadly, fresh cherries are out of season right now).

My plan formulated:

3.13.1

Organized!

Almond Cake using almond flour and/or almond paste – Thank you, Katy & David Lebovitz

3.13.2

I love my little 5″ layering pans!

Buttercream flavored with Cherry Schnapps and Chocolate Liqueur in place of the milk & vanilla

The crumb coat.

The crumb coat.

Marzipan wrapped Maraschino cherries soaked in Thatcher’s Dark Chocolate Liqueur

There are real cherries inside!

There are real cherries inside!

Marshmallow Fondant Peony – Thank you, Lulu & Sommer

My petals are wilting!

My petals are wilting!

I started prep-ing the kitchen at 9am and piped on the last leaf at 4:15pm (which includes an emergency grocery store run for sugar). In the end, the cake looks pretty good! But my peony is much smaller than I hoped due to lack of practice and correct tools.

Happy 61st Birthday, Mom!

Happy 61st Birthday, Mom!

We are cutting into it tonight… all I’ve tasted is the frosting (yum) and the colored fondant (yuck) and maybe a cherry or two (yum).

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 13, 2013 by in Food and tagged , , , .
