Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Creating… a short story

I’m fascinated with power struggles. And today a scene popped into my head about a couple at a party, looking normal but with a dynamic at home that becomes painfully clear in public.

Here is the beginning of the story. I hope to finish it tomorrow.

Small talk became more animated as the wine had a chance to loosen tongues and ties. He stood behind me and slightly off to the side, adding a few sporadic comments to the conversation but mostly observing those around him.

My glass was never empty, basking in the persistent attention of multiple conversationalists. The men grew more aggressive despite the quiet man at my side. I reveled in the challenge of juggling them all, and fending off the more zealous of the lot.

And then I felt it, his hand against the small of my back. I understood his action. He was unsure of his place, but that did not make it acceptable.

With a smile, I handed my glass to the current suitor and turned to give him my full attention, his hand falling away with my movement.

2 comments on “Creating… a short story

  1. Sharmishtha
    October 13, 2012

    well written piece!

    • Miranda
      October 13, 2012

      Thank you 🙂

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 11, 2012 by in writing and tagged , , .
