Creating… Miranda

Be creative EVERY DAY • A Challenge

Creating… ombre

After researching various techniques for hand dying your very own personal custom shirt in a graduation of color currently popular as ombre, I wung it.

What? You want more details? Ok!

• Using Dylon Tulip Red powdered dye packet (for 1/2 lb of clothing)

Mix half the packet and 2 tablespoons of salt with 4 cups hot water

Add more hot water until you can dip your clothing in it (Yes, this is dilution. No, this is not a perfect science.)

• At this point I dipped my entire shirt to form a base color of pink only long enough to even distribute the dye, less than a minute.

• Using the nifty pants holders that come with fancy new pants! I clipped my shirt collar to assist with even gradation (think horizons).

• With about half of the shirt out of the dye bath I mixed half of the left over power (1/4 of total packet) with 1 tablespoon of salt and more hot water. Adding this to the dye bath and impatiently waiting about 5 minutes. 

• For the final and darkest band of color I left just the bottom most part of the shirt in the dye bath, letting the lightest top collar hang over the edge of my plastic tub into my sink. Mixing the remain bit of powered dye (1/4 of total packet) with 1 tablespoon salt and hot water, I added it to the bath and made sure to pour it over a bit of shirt above the water level… to kind of help the gradation blend and not have and ugly line. Once again I let it set for less than 10 minutes.

• In the meantime, I took some warm clean water and poured it over the exposed collar to lighten it up a bit. Pretty much you have to do a lot of fussing if you want the gradation to be even on the horizon and smooth with out lines.

• Once you think you’re done, rinse it out with a cold water bath. Then wash with warm water. I’m still in the rinsing process, but will be sure to show you the finished product once I debut it!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on August 30, 2012 by in Physical Design and tagged , , , , .
